I can’t believe I finished! Now the fun begins…and a book rec

Wow, after two years, tons of angst and tears, I finally finished my WIP. Love Aggression has been a labour of love and it’s been a hell of a thing to write. I’m so glad it’s done.

After walking away from it for a couple of days, the time has come to start going over it and get it ready for submission. After all this, if my publisher doesn’t take it, I might just lose my freaking mind.

The title Love Aggression comes from a conversation I had with a friend of mine. We were talking about his dog, a pit bull that was a rescue animal. The dog had issues because he had been abused and starved so he was so terrified of his meal being taken away that it made him very aggressive at feeding time. This friend had another dog as well and so both animals had to be fed in separate rooms or the rescue dog would attack the other one if she came even close to his food. This behaviour is called food aggression and is common in animals who have survived being starved.

I was writing this book at the time and in my mind I wondered, what would you do if you’d never had a family, never felt like you’d been loved by anyone and then you found everything you’d been looking for but never expected to have. How far would you go to protect and keep that love in your life if someone bad was threatening to take it away from you, especially when you’re a wolf shifter whose animal instincts tend to have more influence over your personality as a whole.

So, the name got in my head and it sort of became a driving force behind the story, figuring out how my main character dealt with the threat to the family he’d put together.

Now, I know some of you reading this are wondering what a wolf-shifter is. The best I can come up with is that they are sort of like a werewolf, without all the “grrrrr kill and eat people” that seems to come with the full moon in all the movies. It’s probably my favorite genre for books at the moment and I really can’t get enough of reading them.

So, as for the fun part that’s just starting? Going over the damn thing, looking for spelling, grammar and continuity mistakes and knowing full well that if the publisher takes it, their editors will find a few hundred more mistakes that I’m going to miss. I have to check the formatting and make sure it’s ready to be submitted.

And I have to write a synopsis, which is basically me, trying to sum up two years of blood, sweat and tears into a paragraph or two and entice my publisher into taking it. It’s an impossible task that drives me out of what’s left of my mind.

Once it’s been sent off in a hopefully email, there’s two or three months of nail-biting and hand-wringing as I wait and see if all my hopes and dreams are going to be crushed.

I know, it all sounds very dramatic but that’s how it honestly feels to me. Imagine if someone told you that “it’s a really great attempt, but your child just doesn’t make the cut, so throw it out and try something else.” As my friend keeps telling me, I kind of over think everything….it’s truly a curse, lol.

So, what do I do while I’m waiting? Reading…cause I never stop that. Reviewing, because that let’s me read more, and of course, writing. There’s always another little plot bunny running around in my head, and I have at least two other WIP started and abandoned in favour of getting Love Aggression finished.

And there’s life stuff, what with working and housecleaning and everything else. I’ll have friends and family to keep me distracted and some, like Ash and Dani and Louse who will prop me up and keep me from worrying too much. And smack me (virtually) when I moan about not being good enough and how I know it’s going to be rejected. They’re good friends.

And speaking of reading and shifter stories, I just read a fantastic one.

Otter Chaos by P.D. Singer is a wonderful story that just pulled me in and wouldn’t let me go. I love how the author portrays both the human version of Lon and the otter version. She gets inside his head and makes us fall in love with him.

Corey is the most understanding of boyfriends and completely enraptured by Lon.

It’s been a while since I loved a book so much, so I highly recommend Otter Chaos and it included the short that got the story started, Tail Slide.

You can find it here at Amazon.

And of course, you can find all my stuff at Amazon.com here and here at Dreamspinner Press.

This photo by Anthony Aceto seems like a good example of where wolves might like to run!

11225410_10203241485157085_4950110849717770771_n

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I can’t believe I finished! Now the fun begins…and a book rec

  1. LeAnn Warren

    So glad you finished it. I would love to read it so please let me know when it comes out. So proud you are following your dreams my dear. Love you. Auntie LeAnn

  2. TJ Tilley

    Good luck with the book you just finished. It’s
    Remarkable how that pic fits your wolffish story
    Line! GOOD LUCK SWEETIE! I absolutely love
    Gay (m/m) pics and books! You Go Girl!

Leave a Reply

