A change is as good as a rest….and an author rec

So. I’ve made a big decision and I’m changing jobs. I’ve run a dayhome in my small town for the last 12 years and while I’ve loved the kids and had a lot of fun, I think it’s time for something different. I love that it made it possible for me to stay home and care for my daughter, even if she didn’t always appreciate it (Mom, I wanna go to the cool dayhome Mercedes goes to) but I think I need to get out and remember how to interact with people older than 6.

There’s also the whole issue with kids coming and going and never knowing how much my paycheck is going to be at the end of the month, plus the fact that I’m considered to be self-employed and the pains that causes me. When people can just pull their kids and leave a serious 650 dollar hole in your paycheck, it leaves your feeling scared and unsettled.

So, I’ve given my noticed and started training at my new job and while I know that it will hold its own challenges, I’m hoping it will rejuvenate me and help other areas of my life as well.

Like my writing. It is so affected by the rest of my life. When I’m worried and unsettled, focusing on my story is difficult at best and some days, it’s downright impossible. When you can’t figure out if you can pay your bills, it’s hard to concentrate on romance between two hot and growly shifters and I really, really want to get this book finished.

My daughter is old enough now, that spending some time alone at home isn’t too much of a hardship for her. In fact, she will probably enjoy the freedom that comes with it (of course, living in a small town populated with so many family members sort of limits that freedom a little naturally). But, it was gratifying to have her tell me that it would be weird not having me around and that it would take some getting used to. I think it helps that I will be working at a store that’s a 10 minute walk from our house and she always knows where to find me.

On the writing front, well it’s much the same. The French Translation of my second novel “All the Things I Didn’t See” is out today from my publisher and I’m finding that very exciting.  It’s the fourth language for that book and it makes me smile to think that people in other parts of the world are enjoying it.

The shifter story is coming along, slowly but surely and I’d like to say I’ll have it done by the end of March but I’m too chicken to make that kind of commitment. Anything could happen and I would feel even worse if I failed. But I have a lot of great supporters behind me, that are rooting me on and poking me in the back with a pencil when I let myself get too lost. They know who they are and thanks guys.

So, yeah, that’s it for the catching up portion of this post so now on to the part that I enjoy the most, the fic rec. Only, it’s not just a fic, it’s an author.

Rhys Ford is one of those authors that just lets me get lost in a story, so when I emerge from it, blinking in the light, I feel like I’ve been on a journey of epic proportions.

Her Sinners Gin series is my favorite. Big Irish men with huge families who inevitably find men who are a little bent, but definitely not broken. With a memorable dog as my favorite side character. These stories have made me laugh….and cry and want to throw things and I’ve never regretted letting myself get invested in the lives of the people she’s bringing to life.

I haven’t read her Cole McGinnis series yet, it’s next on my list, but her Hellsinger series is amazing.

My new favorite is Black Dog Blues. The first book in her new Kai Gracen series, it’s a roller coaster of a fantasy novel that twists and turns its way through the pages and I am dying for book two to come out.

Check her out at Amazon as well as at Dreamspinner Press and other places.

And of course, you can find me at Amazon as well.

And just because I love his work, here’s another gorgeous photograph from my friend Anthony Aceto

B6dSAC_CIAAfNOq

Leave a comment

Filed under I'm so excited!

Leave a Reply

