Where did I go and how do I find me?

It’s been forever it seems since I’ve blogged. I know I say that every time, but it’s more true than usual today. I’ve been trying to find something to write about and I’m still not sure what’s gonna end up coming out.

The release of Wrapped Up in Chains has gone so much better than I ever hoped or dreamed of. I’ve gotten amazing reviews and the sales have been fantastic. Got to number one twice on Amazon.ca in all three of my categories and did almost as well on Amazon.com. I was blown away by it all. Good reviews AND good sales? A writer’s dream come true I think.

The people I’ve heard from who’ve read it have made me laugh and made me cry and hearing from people who have been touched by my story is absolutely the best part of doing this, so thank you to all the people who have taken the time to contact me and let me know how much you liked it.

Now for the hard part…THE NEXT BOOK.

Yeah, that’s how it looks in my brain…like it’s shouting at me to stop being such and idiot and write already.

I know where I want this story (I haven’t got a title for it yet. I suck at titles) to go, I just haven’t figured out yet how I’m going to get it there. And in a story, it really is all about the journey.

I’m feeling a lot of pressure to get this one perfect, but it’s mostly coming from myself. After how well Wrapped has done, it feels like this obligation to do something even more amazing to follow-up on it and you wanna know a secret? I’m never sure that I can.

I love the premise of the story and the reactions of my pre-readers have all been very positive but as usual, I’m my own worst critic. It’s one of those things that only I can fix and I’m not quite sure how to do it.

I’ll get there eventually. I need to stop procrastinating and just sit down and write. It’s as simple as that…and as complicated. It’s kind of like when you can’t sleep and you lay there telling yourself to just close your eyes and the harder you try to sleep, the more you can’t. It’s frustrating and pisses me off like you wouldn’t believe. But like not being able to sleep, at some point, you do just drift off and do what you need to do and this story will get there too.

I think I need to stop and go back to my roots…write something for the fandom I started in and hopefully kick-start my brain back into gear. The thing about writing fanfiction is, you have a whole universe that’s already built for you and a whole group of people who already know the characters you’re writing about and all you have to do is tell another story or another version of their story. It’s sort of like talking to an old friend. Old friends already know everything about you and you don’t have to explain every little detail to them. They just get it.

Anyway, that’s where my brain is at…at least the writer part of it. I’ll try to not go so long without blogging again. I never shut up in real life so you think it wouldn’t be so hard to come up with a subject to talk about!

Okay, I’m gonna rec one of the first m/m novels that I ever read.

Crying for the Moon by Sarah Madison is a wonderful story about a Vampire who moves to a remote town with a group of friends who just happen to be werewolves. The first day he’s there, he meets a man who is everything he ever wanted but is terrified to have. The story made me laugh and made me cry and I was hooked from beginning to end. The supernatural world is my favorite genre and this story didn’t let me down for one second.

You can get it here at Dreamspinner: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=2422 and also at Amazon.com.

I’d like to take this opportunity to remind you to buy your ebooks from the publisher if you can as this means more money going to the authors and less going for third-party fees.

As always, you can find all my stuff here at Dreamspinners: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php?cPath=55_454 as well as at Amazon.

2 Comments

Filed under Monday Rants, Writing and thinking.

2 responses to “Where did I go and how do I find me?

  1. Sarah_Madison

    You know, I do that too–when I need to jumpstart my writing mojo, I often turn to fandom. Not only does it provide all the things you mentioned, but it is very liberating to write something without any pressure that can be as whacky or far-fetched as you can imagine. I wrote a story once when I needed a little comfort in my life and I threw in all the tropes I could think of that made me happy. Turns out it made a lot of other people happy, too, even though it was ridiculously improbable. 🙂

    One of the big differences between writing fanfic and writing professionally, however, is the relative lack of feedback. Post a piece of fanfic and within the *hour*, someone is leaving a comment on how much they love it. Sometimes releasing an original story feels like you’re Noah on the deck of the Ark, sending out the dove and hoping it comes back with an olive branch. 🙂 Feedback is a lot less common and isn’t necessarily predisposed to be kind. Which is why it is so delightful to find out that someone really liked something you wrote. Seriously. Sometimes I get the feeling that maybe five people total have ever read anything I wrote, so your kind words here are very happy-making–and encouraging too. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

