It has recently come to my attention….and a fic rec…

I just figured out that I may possibly have too much to do. It might be something I should have figured out a while ago, but I’m always a little behind.

I’m working on my shifter story (yes, Steve, Jen, Mom, Ty, Deanna and anyone else who’s waiting) and it’s coming along nicely plus I have a fandom thing on the go. All other writing has been put on the back burner for the moment because I only have so much writing time to go around.

I also recently volunteered to do some book reviews for a review blog run by a couple of friends of mine. Reviewing a book required reading it and while it’s a hardship (I can’t even type that with a straight face) I’m really enjoying the process. I think trying to figure out what to say about a story is helping me with my descriptive skills. Knowing that you like or don’t like a story and explaining why to someone else is two totally different things and as a writer who knows what it’s like to get bad reviews, I struggle to be critical and constructive at the same time. Saying “this story sucked” doesn’t really explain to people what the problem is.

I also hope that the people who wrote the stories I’m reviewing remember that my opinion is just that; my opinion. They shouldn’t take it as gospel and I hope they remember the good reviews they get as well. I never set out to deliberately hurt someone’s feelings, but I know it’s probably happening and I am sorry about that. My advice to any writer is don’t take the reviews too seriously. You’ll drive yourself insane that way. Also, I’ll remember those death threats…kidding, just kidding.

Also coming up? Two stories that I’m going to be editing…at the same time. Breaking Cupid’s Curse will be appearing in the Conversation Hearts Valentine Anthology coming in February and Wrapped Up in Chains is coming from Dreamspinner Press in April. I’m preparing to feel extra stupid as the mistakes I made are pointed out to me by not one, but two editors whom I’m sure will be shaking their heads and questioning the decision to publish me. Plus there is a cover for Wrapped Up in Chains that I have to decide on and I’m hoping my handsome friend really will pose for it. I have a feeling those eyes of his will sell a lot of books for me.

Plus Christmas is coming. Tomorrow we will be celebrating early with my sister and her kids because they are off to Disneyworld on the 20th. I’m not jealous of the whole amusement park thing. Standing in line for hours and scary rides aren’t my thing. But as I look out the window at the sidewalks that need to be shoveled and the weather forecast that doesn’t seem to get up over -15c, I am a little jealous of the warmer weather they are going to be enjoying. I know my oldest niece is totally looking forward to wearing a bikini in December.

Christmas is going to be quiet around here this year as all the family and long-time family friends who celebrate with us Christmas Eve are off with other parts of their family this year. My girl is going to be the only grandchild who will there for Christmas dinner and she’s planning on going to Uncle Steve’s in her pajamas Christmas morning so her and Aunty Jen can have a relaxing sort of day.

So, that’s what’s going on with me. And that’s not even all the stuff with my two jobs and you know, when I write it all down sometimes, it’s a little overwhelming! I can totally see how writers got the reputation for being alcoholics!

Oh, and just little reminder that there are a lot of young people out there who will be spending Christmas in less than ideal circumstances. If you can, please look into a charity in your community that helps homeless youth and help make their Christmas a little brighter. And please make sure it isn’t a charity that deliberately excludes LGBT kids. There’s more of them out there than you might think. You will never find me dropping another dime into a Salvation Army bucket ever again.

Now for my fic rec. Trusting Thomas is a wonderful story by KC Wells about a young man who needs to be rescued in more ways that one and the man who saves him. I love how the trust between the two characters takes time to build honestly and all the characters are very well written. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in this authors “Collars and Cuffs” series.

Get it here: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4251

Or here: http://www.amazon.com/Trusting-Thomas-Collars-Cuffs-Wells-ebook/dp/B00FOGBM0M/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1386947457&sr=1-2&keywords=trusting+thomas

And of course I’d be a poor writer if I didn’t give you my links: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Cindy%20Sutherland&search-alias=digital-text&sort=relevancerank

Dreamspinner: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php?cPath=55_454

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Ramblings

Leave a Reply

