A little of this…a pinch of that…some family and a fic rec!

Yeah, I know, I haven’t blogged for a while. Been really busy writing (and reading) and RL is as busy as ever! Man I could use a week of with nothing to do but clean my house and yard (and read).

My WIP is coming along and I’m proud to say its like nothing I’ve ever written before, starting with the fact that it’s a wolf-shifter story. Let me tell you, that makes me all kinds of nervous because there are some amazing writers out there who excel at shifter stories. M.D. Grimm and C. Cardeno come to mind as does Mary Calmes and Kim Fielding. Throw in M.A. Church, Poppy Dennison and Chris T. Kat and there is a whole lot of excellence to strtive for.

Then I had a friend remind me that there are certain rules for shifter stories that the author usually has to set for themselves. And the author that breaks their own rules is in for a hard time. Plus there seems to be set ideals within the genre the writers seem to fall back on. I’ve always been a rule breaker though.

I will post the prologue soon, just to give you all a taste.

Other than that, we are almost done with the Summerfest for my favorite fandom. I’m still involved in it and will probably continue to write fanfiction for it for as long as people will keep reading it. The wonderful friends I made there led me to submitting my first story for publication and I would never want to turn my back on them or let them down.

I’m still waiting to hear from Dreamspinner about my latest submission. God I hate this part so much. I’ve considered self-pubbing, like some of my amazing friends do, but I’ve come to realize that I count on the support of my publisher. And it’s not just the fact that they do my covers or that their edits always make my story better in every way.

I love my publisher. They make me feel like I’m part of something wonderful. I know I shouldn’t be writing this. It’s just asking for fate to kick me in the teeth and have them reject my manuscript, but it’s true. I never could have done this on my own and I think they totally earn their share of the profits from my writing.

The other Dreamspinner authors make me smile and I feel like part of a big family. Of course, they can be intimidating with their talent and their larger than life personalities, but they also give me something to aspire to, even if I’m not sure I can ever get there.

I would love to attend one of the author events. It looks like so much fun and I would give anything to put faces and voices (yes, I’m weird that way) to the names I see every day. Of course, I would be ridiculous. I’d fangirl all over them and they would probably question my sanity.

That’s okay, I do it all the time.

Attending a conference is one of those things that’s on my “someday, come hell or high water” list.

What else is going on? My sister is moving away. She’s found herself a wonderful man and is moving forward in her life and I’m really happy for her.

But I’m sad too. She is my best friend and one of my biggest supporters. I can’t imagine not being able to walk down the street and knock on her door. Dinner at least once a week is going to be a thing of the past and I’m honestly not sure how to deal with it.

She’s never lived more than 15 minutes away from me in almost 43 years and this is going to be hard as hell to deal with. Adding to my sadness is that her oldest girl is going with her. My nieces and nephews have always been bright shining stars in my life and this girl always makes me smile.

She’s funny and beautiful and smarter than she ever gives herself credit for. Her mouth is almost as big as her heart and I love it when she’s snarky and full of wit. She’s her mother’s daughter with all the confidence that my sister never had in herself but should have.

They are amazing, wonderful people whom I’m going to miss like crazy. I will miss movies and drinks with my sister and my nieces surprise drop in visits and I will probably cry a lot when they are gone. It’s only three hours away, but right now it feels like the other side of the world.

Luckily, I still have her son and other daughter here. My nephew has been a source of joy since I found out my sister was pregnant with him and I hope he knows that my door is always open whenever he needs it.

My other niece, well, it’s been amazing watching her grow and that last few years she seems to be really coming into her own. It’s true transformation that has been inspiring to watch.

And of course, my folks and my brother are still here and I’m incredibly lucky for that. I’m hoping to spend more time with my parents now that mom is retired and dad is semi-retired.

And my (way taller than me) little brother is my hero. Smart, wicked funny and good-hearted and he never lets me down. And his girlfriend is a fantastic person who’s become a really awesome friend and it makes me happy that she makes him smile. Her kids are pretty cool too, lol.

And I have my amazing daughter and my supportive husband so, while I will be sad, I also have things to be happy about.

Anyway, I guess I had more to say than I thought. This whole getting to know the author through her blog just got a little “in-depth” I guess. I hope you don’t mind.

And now for the fic rec portion of our program….

Phoenix Rising by Theo Fenraven is a wonderfully crafted fantasy story. The picture he managed to paint took my breath away and I fell hard for his characters. Artemis is a cop who is just starting to realize that he needs more in his life than just his job. When he meets Talis, he feels a pull like nothing he’s ever experienced before. Watching these two men find their way is nothing short of amazing.

Find it here: http://www.amazon.com/Phoenix-Rising-ebook/dp/B008JQQCOK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1377300374&sr=1-1&keywords=phoenix+rising+theo

And as always, you can find me here: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Cindy%20Sutherland&search-alias=digital-text&sort=relevancerank

and at Dreamspinner: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php?cPath=454

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Ramblings, Writing and thinking.

Leave a Reply

