Some thoughts, a give away and a fic rec (of course)

So, I’m writing something and I’m not sure if I’m going on the right direction with it, but I like the idea so I will keep going. My inspiration is not a fandom this time, but a person and an idea. Maybe I will tell you who and what sometime.

I haven’t heard from Dreamspinner about the submission I made, but at the moment I’m going with no news is good news. I will keep hoping.

I went to the local library the other day. I used spend a lot of time there, but with all the writing I’m doing and the fact that I read mostly ebooks on my computer, I have been remiss in saying hi to my friends there. While there, I went to the card catalogue and looked myself up…I’m not there yet. But, I looked up Dreamspinner and was gratified to see several pages of books listed there and so I have hope for the future.

The librarian, a wonderful lady I’ve known for years, came to chat with me and asked what I was doing. I told her I was looking myself up in the card catalogue (as I blushed like crazy) and she asked why so I told her about my stories. She asked me why they didn’t have any copies of my books and I said “because they are gay romance novels”. She looked at me like I was nuts and I was getting ready to defend myself when she said “So? We’d love to have them.”

Huh…I wonder how one goes about donating an ebook to the local library?

Also, the more I hear coming out of Russia and from the IOC, the more I think any gay athletes and their supporters should just stay home. I know you have a point to make, I know you’ve trained so hard and so long for your chance to be there, but it’s not worth your safety. And as the IOC has threatened to ban anyone who attempts to make a stand, you would be there without any backup. I know you will probably go and I understand. I’ll be the person sitting at home not watching the Olympics and hoping desperately that you will all return home safe and sound.

Meanwhile, I’m watching as state after state and country after country are coming to terms with equality and while I know there is a long way to go, these steps that are being taken in the right direction almost every day give me hope that one day everyone I care about will be treated with respect and dignity.

So, I’m feeling a little nostalgic so I’ve decided to do a giveaway. Comment here or at my FB author’s page and I will pick a winner in a couple of days. Any of my stories, the winner picks the one they want. Here is the link to me at Dreamspinner so you can read the blurbs and pick one. http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php?cPath=55_454

The link for my FB authors page is here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cindy-Sutherland-Dreamspinner-Author/313915495374744

Sorry for the shortness of today’s blog, but RL is definitely busy this week. 5 small children under 6 is enough to keep anyone busy, so I don’t feel too bad for feeling like a Mack truck ran over me at the end of the day.

But, I do have a fic rec for you. Beyond Duty by SJD Peterson is a wonderful story about two soldiers who’ve loved each other for years and then end of DADT means changes for them. They are good changes but still hard for men who’ve lived the military life of rules and routine. I loved watching as they figured out how to be with each other the way they always wanted to be. Do yourself a favor and read this story that’s sure to make you smile. Here is the Dreamspinner link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4097&cPath=55_424 and here is the Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Duty-ebook/dp/B00EAE7HQM/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1376486815&sr=1-1&keywords=beyond+duty

And as always, you can find me at the Dreamspinner link above or at Amazon as well: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Cindy%20Sutherland&search-alias=digital-text&sort=relevancerank

6 Comments

Filed under Giveaway!, Hump Day, Writing and thinking.

6 responses to “Some thoughts, a give away and a fic rec (of course)

  1. dawn

    Hi Cindy! All the Things I didn’t see sounds like a book up my alley! I’ll enter the contest. Here’s to the continuing success of your writing career and hope you hear from Dreamspinner about your 5th book with them!

  2. I agree with you. Athletes from all over the world should stay home and stand strong with their LGBT brothers and sisters. This is one chic that will not be tuning in on the TV either, although, I have no idea when was the last time I watched television.
    Thanks for doing the giveaway! Cowboy Way sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

