Baby it’s hot outside! And a fic rec…of course.

So, it’s gonna be a hot one out there today. Seems like a good day to write and I will, later…while hiding in my basement.

But first I’m going to ramble a little.

So, June was Pride month and I learn some things. First, I learned why June is Pride month, at least in North America. I looked it up and learned about some of the horrible things that led up to the Stonewall riots that took place on June 28th, 1969.

I also read about the Upstairs Fire, a horrible act of arson and murder that killed 32 people at a gay club in New Orleans in 1973. You can read about it here yourself but be warned, the picture that accompanies the article will haunt you. The article calls it a massacre and I completely agree. http://www.dailykos.com/story/2013/06/24/1218532/-Remembering-LGBT-History-The-New-Orleans-UpStairs-Fire-the-Largest-Gay-Massacre-in-U-S-History

I don’t know enough about LGBT issues and I admit that. As someone who writes gay romance novels, I sort of feel like it’s my responsibility to know as much about the people I write about as I can. That means the good and the bad and I’m really trying.

The good things that last month brought? I attended my first Pride celebration and fully intend to make it an annual event.

And I watched with breathless anticipation as the Supreme Court of the United States brought down two rulings that offered hope to millions of people who want nothing more than to be treated just like everyone else.

I was in tears as I watched the people standing on the steps of that courthouse when they read the first ruling striking down DOMA. Happiness warred with disbelief in so many faces, like they were afraid to believe it was really true. I saw pictures of Edie Windsor and she looked elated…but I bet in her heart she was wishing her beloved Thea Spyer could have witness that day.

Then the Prop 8 ruling came down and it was amazing. I would like to know how many marriage proposals those words prompted.

So yes, June was a big month and there was so much to be happy about…but there is still a long way to go.

There are still mountains to climb and oceans to cross. As my friend Ryan pointed out, those rulings were wonderful, but in the state he lives in, it doesn’t mean much. He still can’t get married where he lives and there are so many other states were the LGTB community is in the same boat. So enjoy your victories because you deserve it. You are all fighting so hard every day and you need to take the time to rejoice in the good so that you can find the strength to keep on going. But unfortunately, there isn’t a lot of time to rest.

I’m going to do what I can. I will keep promoting and donating. I’ll continue to talk about the issues with anyone who will listen (and even those who don’t want to listen). And I will celebrate with everyone in the LGTB community every time there is another victory.

And then there will be days that I’ll be sad and feel slightly guilty because all those things you’re fighting for come to me without a thought because I am a straight woman and I know it isn’t fair in the least.

I know, I know…life isn’t fair. In fact, a lot of the time it sucks. People who deserve so much more are constantly denied it and those who have way too much don’t appreciate it enough. I know it’s the way things are but I don’t have to like it.

My mom always told me I was too idealistic.

I keep seeing this quote all over my FB. “Gay Pride was not born out of a need to celebrate being gay, but instead our right to exist without prosecution. So instead of wondering why there isn’t a Straight Pride month or movement, straight people should be thankful they don’t need one.”

I am thankful. I can’t even begin to imagine how awful it much be to feel like I’m not welcome to be a member of the society I live in.

But as you look around my dear friends, I hope you see all the people who are there for you. People like me, a middle-aged straight woman from Canada that believes that everyone should be treated with equality and dignity and respect. (you can thank my parents for that) I see you all and acknowledge what you’ve been through and hope you know I stand beside you, humble and thankful that I can do what little bit I’m able to make things better for you.

I also live for the day that Gay Pride becomes something else. I would like to see it become Human Pride because at that time, we all stand as equals in every way.

That would be something to have Pride in.

Okay, enough of my rambling. How about something to read?

I recommend Purpose by Andrew Q Gordon. It’s a little different, kind of on the supernatural/sci-fi scale but I love the evolution of both main characters as they sort of meet in the middle and figure out how to live and love with each other. Ryan makes Will more human while Will makes Ryan stronger. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Find it here: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=3902

And here: http://www.amazon.com/Purpose-ebook/dp/B00DIRNV2Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372779878&sr=8-1&keywords=Purpose+Andrew+Q+Gordon

4 Comments

Filed under Things I'm Thankful For, Things that bug me., Writing and thinking.

4 responses to “Baby it’s hot outside! And a fic rec…of course.

  1. Ryan

    Great entry Cindy. The LGBT community is lucky to have you as an ally 🙂

  2. Just picked up Purpose after a chat with the author on the Dreamspinner facebook page. It looks interesting so I’m glad to see it recommended.

    I also read the story about that fire. And yes, the pictures haunt me. I hope people take the warning seriously.

  3. Cindy – Thanks for the shout out – I appreciate it. Sorry it took me so long to see this – but I’m glad you enjoyed the book.

    -AQG

Leave a Reply

