Writer’s block of a different kind.

So, my usual writers block involves not being able to think of anything to write. I think most writers go through this more than once.

But then, I have to be different. My problem is, I have so many ideas and plot bunnies running through my head that I can’t seem to concentrate on just one. I open a story and try to write, then the next place I need to go for another story pops up…or I get an idea for a totally new story that bounces around in my brain, insisting on being let out!

Every song I hear seems to inspire the first few lines of a promising idea…a picture conjures up a scene in my head that won’t let me go. It’s like my brain is on overload and I’m seriously worried about everything just hitting a brain-frying peak and then shutting down completely!

It’s driving me crazy…okay, crazier. I’m a few bricks short of a load to begin with and I really don’t need the extra push to Bonkersville. Writing is how I decompress now. It helps me remember that there’s more to me than changing diapers and scrubbing toilets and handing customers their change.

When I think back to what I did to rid myself of stress before I wrote (I’ve only been at this for almost 4 years) I draw a blank, mostly. I used to sing when I got a chance. I was a karaoke queen and damned proud of it. Set me in front of a room of strangers and let me to at my favorite songs. All the ones that I knew all the words to by the time I was 8 and figured out I could carry a tune. I wasn’t the greatest singer in the world, but I didn’t suck either.

But there’s only so much going out to the bar you can do as you get older…at least if you expect to keep your job and your marriage and finding places to go was getting harder and harder.

But writing…that was something that offered a different kind of release. The stories I write usually reflect the mood I’m in. Terrible things happen to my favorite characters when I’m in a bad mood. And when I’m in a good mood, I write fluff like it’s going out of style, the likes of which would make me roll my eyes in a m/f novel I was reading.

And so now I’m finding ways to distract myself. I’m reading like crazy (thanks for the sales, Dreamspinner) and of course, I’m here sharing my rambling thoughts with all of you because trying to force myself to write is like trying to force myself to sleep….impossible.

And now, because I like to, here’s a rec from me. Just so you know, I rec the stories that got to me in some way. Ones that made me smile..or cry..or both. Stories that touched my heart in some way. I can’t always explain why, it’s why I’m not a reviewer, but every story I put down here has been something amazing to me. They aren’t always the stories that got the critical acclaim, but they are special in some way to me.

Sand and Water by Shae Connor is a story about moving on after heartbreak, however the heartbreak happens. John is a single father who learns that happiness can come in different forms and that finding new happiness doesn’t erase the good things that came before it. Bryan has his own heartache to overcome, but together the find a new way. This is a story that’s sure to leave you with a smile. http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=2453

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing and thinking.

Leave a Reply

