So, now what? And a fic rec.

Hunt and Pray is out! And it’s doing pretty good. I have had some fantastic reviews and I’m hoping they lead to some good sale numbers. I know, I know. I’m not supposed to talk about the money I earn from my creative process…it’s tacky. Too bad, the cash makes me almost as happy as the reviews.

But now I’m stuck in “now what?” land. I have four WIP’s, only two of which are suitable for publishing, a writing meme on LJ to keep track of (and write for as I’ve been tagged) and a fandom BigBang challenge to write for. Because I work so much better under pressure.

Add to that the RL obligations of two jobs and a family to take care of and I have all the pressure I need to write a mega best seller!

If only I could find the time.

WIP number one is almost complete, with just and epilogue left to write and then it will be off to the editor (oh wait, that’s me) so it can be made suitable for submission.

I have around 300 books on my to read list and as it grows, the call it sends out gets stronger and stronger and it is becoming almost impossible to resist…but reading takes up so much writing time and it’s hard to enjoy the story because I feel guilty about all the other things I’m not getting done.

I try to slip in a short one every few days just so I have some relaxation time…it makes me a better writer…that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

BTW, this song is stuck in my head and won’t get out. If you would have told me that 20 years later I’d still be listening to NKOTB I would have thought you were nuts. And I like them better now. http://youtu.be/UZMiDznBMKo

So, one of the relaxation stories I’ve read is PUP by SJD Peterson. It’s a lovely little story that’s a sort of spin-off of her Whispering Pines Ranch series that I just haven’t had the time to commit to yet. I have it on good authority that it’s a wonderful set of stories though.

PUP is about Micah, a young bartender who’s been looking for someone to make him his everything. All he wants is to be loved and taken care of and in return he will take care of them. When he meets Tackett, he knows he’s found the man of his dreams. Now he just has to convince Tackett that he’s worth the effort it would take to make Micah focus! It’s a wonderful love story without too much angst that will make you smile at the end. I found myself rooting for Micah over and over again and I think you will too.

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=3756&cPath=424

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing and thinking.

Leave a Reply

