Rambling rant…what else is new?

So, I guess I wouldn’t be much of a romance writer if I ignored this “most romantic” of holidays…only it’s kind of stupid.

Love isn’t something you show for just one day and it’s the little things that keep a relationship going, not grand romantic gestures.

I’d rather the one I love show up with flowers for no reason at all than have him feel like he had been peer-pressured into it on a certain day that doesn’t really mean anything.

So, if you love someone show them every day. Make them lunch, fold their underwear, listen to them rave about their boss and stop pressuring yourself and others to make it perfect.

The second part of my rant today is this…Have you ever read a story and absolutely loved it and thought…this is the perfect ending to the perfect story?

Then, out of the blue, you find out that the writer has written a sequel and it just rips your heart to shreds? Happens to me all the time. The story was amazing, hitting every note perfectly and leaving me feeling good for days.

Uh oh, here comes the sequel and this couple that you love, who’ve already been through hell and back to be together, is torn apart with a bunch more angst and stupidity and it’s all ruined.

Here’s a hint…not every story needs a sequel. Sometimes “happily ever after” should mean just that. As a writer I think sometimes you need to ask yourself “what is my motivation for writing this sequel?”

If it’s just to make more money off of popular characters then maybe you should think again. For me, most sequels never come anywhere near the greatness of the original and it pains me to see characters I love thrown to the wolves when it’s just not necessary. Sort of ruins the whole experience for me.

If you really feel that the characters aren’t done telling their story after the first book, then fine…show us where they go from there. Just remember, sometimes less is more.

I know that some writers despise the whole HEA thing. It’s not realistic and no one really ever gets that.

But when I’m reading, there is a lot of times that all I need is escape from reality, so I don’t care that these two people would never work in real life as long as they work in the story.

In the fanfiction I write, I have so many people say..that never happened…”this character” would never do this and I have to shake my head and say “it’s just fiction and my stories are only limited by my imagination”.

Anyway, before I go I want to rec another story. The Last Concubine by Catt Ford is set in ancient China and the picture it paints is gorgeous. A ruler who’s bored with what life has offered him and a princess who turns out to be a prince. Catt Ford’s dialogue and descriptions of how life is lived in a different time take you away to a place that you never want to leave. Do yourself a favor and check it out here. http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=3075&cPath=55_101

2 Comments

Filed under Things that bug me.

2 responses to “Rambling rant…what else is new?

  1. Hildegard

    Hi, great that you started a blog. I am going to Like you, because you wrote the story that grabbed me by the throat and never let go, Hunt and pray. The way you described Luke and Noah was so wonderful. I have read it over and over again and it never gets old. Thanks for that wonderful story. Hope you are going to write more intense stories!. Bye, Hildegard, aka Lukey on Nukefic.

Leave a Reply

