I can karaoke but I can’t speak…wtf?

So, here I am stuck for what to say. I’m worried it’s going to be a trend.

Tomorrow I am scheduled to host an author’s chat on Dreamspinner’s Facebook page and all I can think is…”What if no one talks to me?” God, it’s like high school all over again.

I am a horrible public speaker. Put me up in front of a room full of people and I want to do one of two things…cry or sing.

I know…it’s totally weird.

When I go to karaoke I can stand up there and sing my heart out, no problem. I face the crowd unless I really don’t know the song, and look them in the eye as I pour all I have into my words and when I’m done I’m smiling because I did it without fainting in front of everyone.

But put me up there to give a speech? Forget it…I’m an absolute disaster. I stumble over my words and can barely be heard. Either that or I say something totally stupid and end up in tears.

I was never meant to be a motivational speaker.

Tomorrow I will be sitting there trying not to chew my nails…a habit I broke in high school when a boy I liked told me that guys like girls with long nails…as I hope and pray that someone answers when I say hello.

Of course, this will be in between keeping my dayhome kids happy and healthy so it’s not like I won’t be distracted. Trust me, two 3-year-olds and a 2-year-old are plenty distracting. And really cute.

I never thought about things like this when I submitted my first manuscript. I was so worried about whether or not it would be accepted that I didn’t think about promotion or editing or choosing a cover that will draw lots of readers.

I never thought about starting a blog or an authors page or that I would ever get emails from people who loved my stories that would make me cry.

All I wanted was to prove to my dearest, most supportive friends that me being published would never happen so they would shut up about it.

Turns out they were smarter than me.

Four books later and I hope that this is just the beginning for me. I want to be 86 years old and still putting out romance novels with two handsome boys on the covers. I always did like to be different.

So, if you get a chance, come and visit me tomorrow on FB starting at 6pm EST. I’ll answer any question (within reason of course) and hope to make some new friends.

Here’s the link to the event. https://www.facebook.com/events/412828542142649/

While I’m here, I would totally like to rec Touch Me Gently by JR Loveless. I dare you to not fall in love with the totally broken Kaden and the amazing Logan who puts him back together again. I think it’s a story that shows you that you can overcome the pain of your past to have a better future. If you’re looking for something angsty with hope, this is your story. http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=1965&cPath=55_303

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

