Here again…maybe I like this blog thing.

So, I’m over at FB, chatting with these amazingly generous writers I’ve met and it never ceases to amaze me. Every time I think I’ve been a lucky as I can get with the people I’ve found, someone else (or more than one) comes along and shows me more!

Reviews…sigh. I think they might be the best and the worst part of being writing. The good ones lift you up and make your world brighter and the bad ones rip your heart to shreds.

No I find myself in the postion of trying to decide if I’m going to solicit reviews or not from people who do it professionally. It terrifies me, to be honest. I mean, if you go looking for something, you can only blame yourself if you don’t like what you find.

Since the first time I submitted to Dreamspinner, my life has been such a roller coaster ride of ups and downs and twists and turns and I love it, I really do…except when I feel like throwing up.

Writing fanfiction is much easier. 99% of the people who review or comment are positive and love what you do. They beg for the next chapter and tell you how beautifully you write and how you’ve moved them to laughter or tears.

With published works, there is no instant gratification for your ego and you have to wait for your royalty report (like I am now) to see if anyone is interested in something you’ve poured your heart and soul into.

Trust me when I say, the only thing harder for me is watching my little girl cry after someone has hurt her feelings. I guess my writing is sort of like my child and the thought of anyone being mean to it makes me want to rant and rave and rip the person to shreds.

But, this is the chance you take when you put yourself out there in the public domain.

So, first of all, to all you lovely authors who are listening to me and helping me out (Theo, Emma, AJ, Kate, Edmond and all the rest) Thank you so much. Your support is something I’m quickly coming to rely on.

I also promise to become a better reviewer. If a story moves me, I want the author to know because they deserve to hear how their work affects the people who read it.

Now, off to figure out if I’m brave enough to ask question I might not like the answers to.

1 Comment

Filed under Things I'm Thankful For

One response to “Here again…maybe I like this blog thing.

  1. You’re welcome! 🙂

    DSP, by the way, sends review requests to certain sites. I believe they have a list of those sites available in author resources. It never hurts to ask again though. And if you’re self-pubbing, you already know you’re responsible for all requests. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

